reviews. previews. podcast. and more...

Join sisters NinJaSistah and Pandalicious and the rest of the ESH Crew each day as they discuss video games, tech gadgets, anime, manga... pretty much everything within the geek chic lifestyle.

From Xbox 360, PS3, Wii, and PC game reviews, previews, news, and gushings to audience questions and rumor mill seeding galore you'll find it here at ESH!
First Nerdgasm of 2010: ESH@CES Las Vegas!

Goings On

Search through the goodness that is ESH. Want to see if we are writing and chit chatting about the crap you're interested in.





    CES Coverage

    We went to CES and here's what we saw and molested.

    E3 Coverages

    One stop shopping for all of the ESH E3 goodness.

    Xbox 360 Stuffs

    Check out crew rantings on the XB360 platform.

    PS3 Things

    Yeah, we've talked about Sony stuff too, check em out!

    Wii Little Bits

    Get your Nintendo bits and bobbles here.

    Oh Hai! Anime-niacs

    Peep the stuff we've written about on the anime tip.

    Manga Love

    We less than three manga as well, so peep the manga reviews.

    ESH Photo Galleries

    Check out the snapshots we've taken at events and more here...

    Panda @ the Boston Post Mortem

    posted @ 1/18/2010 03:10:00 PM by Pandalicious

    When the grog is fresh and gamers are a plenty!

    To some of us, gaming is just a hobby, something that we do to relax, unwind, and have fun. However, what if…we wanted to turn it into our 9-5? There isn’t a doorway that leads straight into our dream careers, though we wish that there were.

    Over time, this hobby grew into a deep appreciation. Like most things we grow deeply attached to, we learn to master it; we desire to be apart of it. We have seen this in examples of LARP groups, Dungeons and Dragons fellowships, and all conventions known to man. So what about gamers? Sure there are events like E3, PAX Prime/East, and E for All, but these are geared more to the consumer industry then to say…a bright-eyed overly enthusiastic game developer who has been recreating arcade classics since they hit college, or even a passionate artist who found their love for drawing by playing Final Fantasy VII. These people exist and I have discovered where they should go to find what they are looking for: the International Game Developers Association or IGDA.

    The IGDA is a professional society for game developers. It is an organization like this that brings about conventions like GDC. Which is for the dedicated masses who are serious about constructing games for a living, the focal point of their gaming year. But like so many who cannot make the pilgrimage to the promised land that is GDC; there are places that allow them to congregate, communicate, and network throughout the year.

    Through some good fortune given to me by the game developer gods, I was given a rare opportunity. These do not come around very often, and only fools do not take them when they are offered; I am no such fool. On January 13, 2010, I went to the Boston Post Mortem. Do not be alarmed if you don’t know what this is. Until just recently I was blissfully unaware it even existed. Now with newfound knowledge I bring its existence to the light in hopes that those who are serious about games will make their way to an IGDA chapter near them. Boston Post Mortem the chapter located in, you guessed it-Boston.

    I walked in expecting to be overwhelmed by gamer professionals. Needless to say I was not disappointed. However it was all very informal which made the experience more comfortable. There was no pressure to have to talk to people, to have to exchange cards. If you wanted to go in balls-to-the-wall then go for it, then no one would stop you.
    Sure, there was a lot of networking going on during the open floor, and after the main talk of the evening, given by Jeff Goodsill of Tencent Boston about “Planning for success in the Chinese Game Market.” However, I didn’t just see potential contacts in this room; I saw people who enjoyed a good light-hearted atmosphere to talk about their love of games and their craft relating to their love.

    So just as a preemptive strike for those of you in the Boston Area who are interested in the Boston Post Mortem here are some things to know.

    -It isn’t always a catered event, so be prepared to pay for your grog and meat.
    -Also be sure to have any and all things business related with you, like business cards, samples of your work (if you an artist)

    -Being you is a big bonus. There is no point in being something that you’re not

    -Lastly, Listen, Observe and have a good time. ☺

    If you are interested in Boston Post Mortem, you can visit their website at It lists their schedule of activities, directions and all the companies affiliated with their chapter. If you aren’t from the Boston area but are looking to get involved in something like this, look for local IGDA chapters in your area. They are in fact worldwide, so they shouldn’t be too hard to find. Good luck ☺

    Labels: , ,

    Finish what you start...

    B3 is Coming...

    posted @ 11/30/2008 12:11:00 PM by King Baby Duck
    The Sistahood is about to get some new neighbors...

    You might have read about it on their Facebook, but it's finally hitting your desktop! The Boston Bastard Brigade (or B3) is coming for you, so you better prepare! Join me, along with new crew members Blueonic, Dark Heart, Bam Bam, Pink Taco, and Spoony Sleuth as we talk gaming, anime, music, film, TV, sports, and what's pissing us off in our "Oh, For Fuck's Sake!" section.

    As of this writing there have been two episodes recorded (one in October, one in November), plus the interview I did with Japanese punk band TsuShiMaMiRe back in September. More will be coming each week (or every other week depending on our schedules), so look out for more info as the days go by.

    B3: Coming this December...

    This is King Baby Duck: "Ain't born to lose, baby, I'm born to win! I'm so Goddamn slick, baby, it's a sin!"

    Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

    Finish what you start...

    King Baby Duck's Live Review - Dir en grey: Boston - November 12, 2008

    posted @ 11/13/2008 06:29:00 PM by King Baby Duck

    To fully understand what Dir en grey is about, you need to see them live. I did just that last night at Boston's Wilbur Theatre, along with my Boston Bastard Brigade cohost Pink Taco.

    We got there 15 minutes late, but all we missed was the first couple songs by DeG's opening act the Human Abstract. They were good, but they were a little bit too strobe light happy. Anyone with Epilepsy going to this show would've probably been hospitalized with the first 3 minutes of what I saw.

    After setting up, Dir en grey finally emerged from the darkness. Kyo arrived and stood on his pedestal. No "Hello Boston," no wave to the crowd; just an evil stare towards the screaming fans (mostly from the women). From their first track ("Obscure") to their last ("The IIID Empire") Dir en grey was at their A-game. Kyo's vocals were at full force, screaming from the top of his lungs and singing his heart out. This was best heard in the unplugged version of "Aggitated Screams of Maggot" (which they also played plugged), "Merciless Cult" and "Dozing Green."

    Dir en grey - "Merciless Cult" [Live]

    The show was filled with surprise tracks, with the band digging through songs that have never even been released in the States yet (such as "Obscure" and "The IIID Empire"). Hopefully, if demand is high enough, we will see Dir en grey's earlier work being released in America. Some of the set introduced new tracks from their recently released "Uroborous," with "Glass Skin" and "Toguro" sounding just as loud and nasty as they do on the CD.

    Guitarist Die and bassist Toshiya were having a ball on stage, eating up all the audience's applause and screams; while Kaoru played to the far-right of the stage for the most part until the end. Drummer Shinya proved that he is one of Asia's top drummers, smashing and bashing his way on a drum kit with so many cymbals that it could almost make Dream Theater envious. Kyo, the center of everyone's attention, was a wonder to watch; from his dancing to his five-minute acoustic screaming (yes, acoustic screaming). One may wonder if he'll ruin his vocal chords again, as he did in '06. (He is also partially deaf in his left ear.) He only spoke to the audience once (to introduce "Saku"), but perhaps as a theatrical rocker he did not want to break the fourth wall too much. The fans didn't mind, and I didn't mind either. (I was also shocked that Kyo didn't do his trademark self-mutilation. Maybe he didn't have enough fake blood that night. At least I think it's fake...)

    Dir en grey - "Agitated Screams of Maggot" [Live]

    Although not the greatest show I've ever been to, Dir en grey put on a memorable and entertaining concert that everyone who was there will remember for years to come. (Pink Taco thought they were "pretty good" too.)

    1. Obscure
    2. Grief
    3. Agitated Screams of Maggots
    4. Disabled Complexes
    5. The Fatal Believer
    6. 蜷局 (Toguro)
    7. 艶かしき安息、躊躇いに微笑み (Namamekashiki Ansoku, Tomadoi ni Hohoemi)
    8. Agitated Screams of Maggots -unplugged-
    9. Conceived Sorrow
    10. Glass Skin
    11. 凌辱の雨 (Ryoujoku no Ame)
    12. Hydra -666-
    13. Merciless Cult
    14. The Deeper Vileness
    15. Dozing Green
    16. Repetition of Hatred

    1. 鼓動 (Kodou)
    2. 凱歌、沈黙が眠る頃) (Gaika, Chinmoku Ga Nemuru Koro)
    3. Clever Sleazoid
    4. 朔 (Saku)
    5. The IIID Empire

    Dir en grey's new album "Uroboros" is now in stores, and will be continuing to tour America through December 5. Check the dates below and go as if your life depends on it!

    11/16 - Kool Haus - Toronto, ON
    11/18 - Clutch Cargo's - Pontiac, MI
    11/19 - House of Blues - Chicago, IL
    11/20 - First Avenue - Minneapolis, MN
    11/22 - The Eagles Club - Milwaukee, WI
    11/23 - Pop's - Sauget, IL
    11/25 - House of Blues - Houston, TX
    11/26 - Palladium Ballroom - Dallas, TX
    11/28 - Marquee Theatre - Tempe, AZ
    11/29 - The Wiltern LG - Los Angeles, CA
    11/30 - Warfield Theatre - San Francisco, CA
    12/2 - Hawthorne Theatre - Portland, OR
    12/3 - The Showbox - Seattle, WA
    12/5 - Gothic Theatre - Englewood, CO

    This is King Baby Duck: "Ain't born to lose, baby, I'm born to win! I'm so Goddamn slick, baby, it's a sin."

    Now playing: Dir en grey - CLEVER SLEAZOID
    via FoxyTunes

    Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,

    Finish what you start...

    Big News.. Literally

    posted @ 2/18/2007 02:08:00 PM by MagicMystic
    I heard some interesting news about Kaiju Big Battel on the radio, and when I checked their site it turns out that it was true.

    Kaiju Big Battel is filming a TV pilot at their upcoming fight this Wednesday. That's right, all the mini-giant monsters you know and love will be fighting for honor and glory over the airwaves, assuming they can get their pilot picked up.

    For those of you who don't know of Boston's native Kaiju Big Battel here's the short and stupid. Kaiju battles are the epic fights for survival that take place between such famous characters as Godzilla, Mothra and King Kong. Kaiju Big Battel is a motley collection of over 30 heroes, rogues, space bugs and the forces of Dr. Cube all fighting for distinction and glory and a shiny champions belt.

    So, for all of you that have seen them at Anime Boston the last few years, you now have the right to say I knew them before they caught their break.

    Labels: , , ,

    Finish what you start...

    Mooninite Bomb!?!

    posted @ 1/31/2007 06:46:00 PM by MagicMystic
    Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Adult Swim and the Cartoon Network have now been added to the terrorist watch list..

    Today Boston was veritibly shut down as police and bomb squads investigated some badly planned advertising for the new Aqua Teen Hunger Force movie. Packages with wires and LED lights sticking out of them emblazoned with pictures of the Mooninites caused a panic as people freaked out, thinking that they were bombs.

    This was so big even the Department of Homland Security got in on it. Whoever thought this was a good idea should henceforth forfeit the right to think. But at the same time how high do you have to be to mistake some wires in a box for a WMD?

    Labels: , , , , ,

    Finish what you start...

    Where's the Remote??

    posted @ 12/05/2006 12:19:00 AM by Douceswild
    If there’s anything that I’ve learned from being a gamer, it’s that the games you enjoy playing say a lot about you. Here at ESH, we focus a lot of our attention on gaming and anime. Every once in a while we dip our toes into other pools like music and technology. Hey, what’s a true geek without a love for gadgets? Well what about television programs?

    When my thumbs are sore from button-mashing on a console video game or I’m just too exhausted to pwn-all on World of Warcraft, I like to unwind with a good snack and a great show. Depending on what day it is, I’m enjoying anything in the realm of action, comedy, and romance. That’s right. I said romance. Even the Douce gets a little sentimental at times. I’d like to take this opportunity to get to know all of you a little better. No, I don’t want you social security number or blood type, but I’ll settle for what television programs you just absolutely can’t wait to watch every week and would kick someone out of your home to tune in for.

    To get the ball rolling, I’ll list my favorites and the days I watch them. You’ll probably going to laugh at some of them but don’t worry because I’m sure I’ll do the same to yours. Ok here they are:

    Sunday: Robot Chicken, Venture Brothers
    Monday: Prison Break, Heroes, What About Brian, The Closer
    Tuesday: Nip Tuck, Boston Legal
    Wednesday: Bones
    Thursday: Smallville, Supernatural, The O.C., Grey’s Anatomy
    Friday: Vanished, Las Vegas, Battlestar Galactica
    Saturday: Adult Swim (all of it)

    There are some shows that I watch that air every day such as Attack of the Show, X-play, and Avatar: The Last Airbender. AoTS and X-play are not absolutes because sometimes they aren’t reviewing anything I’m interested in or just being too stupid to hold my attention.

    Who’s next to step up and list their favorites and must-sees’. There’s nothing to be embarrassed about. I got The O.C. on my list. How much worse can yours be?

    Labels: , , , , , , , ,

    Finish what you start...